Subjective reality and Twilight

A brief thought that I have often had:

There’s an extent to which I think there’s truth in the subjective reality model – not that the universe *is* a figment of my imagination, but it’s a good working model for how we exist. We’re born solipsist, and spent the rest of our lives gradually growing conscious of the fact that other people exist and have a life which has nothing to do with us. Whether at first or forever, we are often attracted to “characters” more than people. Before we realize that we’re not the only people in the world, the people in our lives are Non Player Characters.

They’re the shadows moving on the wall of our existential cave.

And when we operate from this perspective, we don’t seek relationships, we seek actors to act out the parts of our internal drama.

Whether you belong to Team Edward or Team Jacob or are not even a Twilight fan (heck, I’m not), here is a metaphor: it’s not just that (many) women want Edward but that they want to be Bella, and need an Edward to act out that role.

And I should NOT know the names of characters from Twilight. But pop culture is the mythology of today.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Subjective reality and Twilight

  1. You’re lucky you just know the names of characters. I actually chose to watch three Twilight movies, partly out of boredom, partly because I have a couple cousins who (a) like Twilight, (b) don’t like the movies, and (c) like to make fun of the movies.

  2. Evelyn Krites says:

    Not to hijack this thread, but, I want to track down an investment advisor that was my parents’ retirement manager. I’m totally stuck here because I want to work with the same agent but, i can’t find them in any of the local directories online. Carlton Financial Group – 106 Mission Ct #701 Franklin, TN 37067 phone (615) 794-2536 Can someone recommend a way that I can use to search for them?

Leave a Reply

