Dating: You’re doing it wrong.

On a couple of my various internet communities, I’ve run across the fact that many, many people just do not know how to date.

It generally goes like this (especially on the part of many straight women).

Expectations

Initiator: “So, do you want to go out sometime?”
Initiatee: “Sure.”
Initiator: “How about if we go get a pizza and see The Avengers on Friday?”
Initiatee: “Sure.”

Reality 

Here is how it more often goes.

Initiator: “So, do you want to go out sometime?”
Initiatee: “Sure.”
Initiator: “Alright, I’ll call you.”
Initiatee: “Sure!”

Initiator never calls and the whole thing falls through the cracks. Initiatee complains that nobody ever wants to date them, that nothing ever happens.

How I do things

I’ve never had a problem with this (I say this as someone who’s been both initiator and initiatee and as someone who’s dated both men and women).

Initiator: “So, do you want to get together sometime?”
Me: “What did you have in mind?”
Initiator: “We could get pizza… or Chinese. Is there a movie you’d like to
see? I haven’t seen The Avengers yet, have you?”
Me: “Pizza sounds great… The Avengers sounds great. When did you have in
mind?”
Initiator: “How about Friday or would Saturday be better for you?”
Me: “Friday is fine, when did you have in mind?”
Initiator: “I can pick you up at six”
Me: “Sounds great!”
Initiator: “It’s a date then!”
Me: “Sounds fun, see you Friday at 6!”

Now, is there anything wrong with doing it like this? 

What planet are we on that you can’t close the deal and or ask a person to clarify what they want?

 If I’m the initiator, then I typically
tend to ask them on a specific date (“do you want to go see ‘The Avengers’ with
me?”) and if they’re the initiator, I tend to ask what they had in mind and
narrow them down and close the time and day.

It’s a natural thing, I don’t give it a lot of thought.

But it seems like a lot of us here have some different ideas of how things should be done; what’s your preference?

Leave a Reply

